Through the ages

The fishery port of Bremerhaven has faced many changes since, in the year 1885, it developed to become one of the hubs of the German deep-sea fishery and, at the end of the thirties of the past century, to become the most important fishery port in Europe. World War II, however, brought down the fish industry to an almost entire collapse as a result of heavy bombings. But the period of reconstruction after 1945 became all the more significant for the important North German economic location.

In the midth of that period which was marked by the spirit of go-ahead, already in 1947 the Cuxhaven based enterprise Friedrich Wilhelm Lübbert opened a branch in the sea port and hence contributed to the reorientation and modernization of the fish industry in Bremerhaven.

In the course of the following decades the trading company grew in a healthy way, it steadily extended and continuously built up personnel. Cosmopolitan times began after the son of the company founder Friedrich Wilhelm Lübbert, Eddy Lübbert, had taken over management in the 1960s. Smart company policies as well as a progressive and open view enabled the enterprise to enter international markets thus allowing completely new prospects in the importation and exportation of fish.

Fresh fish under fresh management

the next generation

After having successfully run the company for decades Eddy Lübbert sold it to his long-time employee Hans-Joachim Holtermann in 1998. Holtermann, as sole owner, further developed the business steering the skills of the sound company into the new millennium until 2012 when he disposed of his shares through a management buyout.

Nowadays Sven Braasch and Bodo Mayerhof head the company as Managing Directors.

Im Wandel der Zeit

Der Fischereihafen von Bremerhaven hat viele Veränderungen erfahren, seit er sich im Jahre 1885 zu einem der Knotenpunkte der deutschen Hochseefischerei und Ende der 30er Jahre des vergangenen Jahrhunderts zum bedeutendsten Fischereihafen Europas entwickelt hat. Der zweite Weltkrieg jedoch brachte, bedingt durch schwere Luftangriffe, die Fischwirtschaft nahezu vollständig zum Erliegen. Umso wichtiger wurde die Zeit des Wiederaufbaus des bedeutenden norddeutschen Wirtschaftsstandortes nach 1945.

Inmitten dieser von Aufbruchstimmung geprägten Zeit siedelte sich bereits 1947 das Cuxhavener Unternehmen Friedrich Wilhelm Lübbert mit einer Zweigstelle in der Hafenstadt an und beteiligte sich somit an der Neuorientierung und Modernisierung der Fischwirtschaft Bremerhavens.

In den folgenden Jahrzehnten wuchs das Handelshaus auf gesunde Art und Weise, wurde stetig ausgebaut und personell erweitert. Nachdem der Sohn des Firmengründers Friedrich Wilhelm Lübbert, Eddy Lübbert, in den 1960er Jahren die Leitung übernahm, brachen fortan kosmopolitische Zeiten an. Durch eine kluge Firmenpolitik und eine neue, offene Sichtweise wurde zeitgemäß der internationale Markt erschlossen und somit eröffneten sich vollkommen neue Perspektiven im Fischimport und -export.

Frischer Fisch unter frischer Führung

DIE NÄCHSTE GENERATION

Eddy Lübbert veräußerte nach erfolgreicher, jahrzehntelanger Leitung das Unternehmen 1998 an den langjährigen Mitarbeiter Hans-Joachim Holtermann. Dieser baute das Geschäft nachhaltig aus und führte die Geschicke des soliden Unternehmens als alleiniger Gesellschafter gekonnt ins neue Jahrtausend, bis er im Jahre 2012 die Firma im Rahmen eines Management-Buy-outs veräußerte.

Heute leiten Sven Braasch und Bodo Mayerhof die Geschicke des Unternehmens.